Injured, sick or orphaned wildlife

call our 24/7 Hotline

0432 300 033


Wombats are endemic to Australia and there are three types of wombats:

  • Common wombat
  • Southern hairy-nosed wombat
  • Northern hairy-nosed wombat

Wombats are born hairless but with developed forelimbs to aid in climbing to the pouch where they attach to a teat for up to five months. At five months they start to develop fine fur. At six months they begin to pop their head out of the pouch and by seven months they are venturing completely out of the pouch.

At eight months it is fully furred and nibbling on grass. Between 9-11 months it leaves the pouch permanently but stays close to its mother. It will continue to suckle from the teat but also eat grass.

Between 12 -15 months the joey is weaned but still remains close to its mother and by 18 months it becomes fully independent.

Adult wombats dig a burrow and generally leave the the burrow at dusk to feed. Their sight is poor so they prefer the dark to venture out.

A group of wombats is known as a wisdom, a mob, or a colony.

Wombats typically live up to 15 years in the wild.